The Raven (as portrayed by a small white dog)

picture-159.jpg photo

 

 

 

 

 

Last night upon a midnight dreary, my small dog whined weak and weary,
Over many a bothersome and irritating volume of forgotten rest,
While I nodded, nearly napping, suddenly there came a pest,
As of some one gently crying, crying at my bedroom door.
`’It’s the dog,’ I muttered, `whining at my bedroom door –
It’s only rain and nothing more.’

Ah, distinctly I remember it was in the bleak Springtime,
And each separate drop of rain wrought its ghost upon the door.
Eagerly I wished the morrow; – vainly I had sought to borrow
From my pillow buffering the sorrow – sorrow about the sad Brandi –
For the mutt that once was fun, whom my mother named Brandi –
Blasphemous words I yelled in vain.

And the silken sad uncertain rustling of each white ear
Chilled me – filled me with annoyed mutters never spoke before;
So that now, to still the beast at my bed, I stood repeating
`’Tis just raining outside dumb dog, stop whining at my bedroom door’-
Some pathetic dog voice seeking entrance at my bedroom door; –
It’s only rain and nothing more,’

Presently my calm grew weaker; hesitating then no longer,
`Dog’ said I, `You’re mad, truly your quietude I implore;
But the fact is I was sleeping, and so loudly you came weeping,
And so annoyingly you came weeping, crying at my bedroom door,
That I could no longer ignore you’ – here I opened wide the door; –
It’s only rain, and nothing more.

Towards the girls room, darkness peering, long I stood there wondering, fearing,
Doubting, missing dreams would she wake the girl next door;
But the silence was broken, and the girl was not awoken,
And the only sound there angrily was the whispered word, `Brandi!’
This I grumbled, and she echoed whimpers I implore, `Brandi!’
It’s only rain and nothing more.

Back into the bedroom turning, all my effort with with useless churning,
Soon again I heard a whining somewhat louder than before.
`Surely,’ said I, `surely she’ll give up at my bedroom door;
Let me sleep then, what torture is, a small white dog named ‘Brandi!’ –
Let me rest and be still tonight stifling the sound of ‘Brandi!’; –
It’s only rain and nothing more!’

 

My apologies to Mr. Poe for butchering his famous poem.  I ended up taking my dog down to the basement where she couldn’t hear the rain.  I got about 3 hours sleep…we’re getting some sleeping pills from the vet.  I haven’t decided if we are supposed to give them to her or take them ourselves.

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “The Raven (as portrayed by a small white dog)

  1. T-Roy – this is brilliant!!! I love doing this to famous poems: I’ve done “Stopping By the Bank on a Rainy Thursday” [Stopping By the Woods on a Snowy Evening”] and others. Well done, bro!! If I can find it I’ll send it to you. There’s a songwriter in you, my friend…….We’ll have to start doing some original songs soon. Writing as a band adds a totally new dimension to the dynamics of a group.

  2. There once was a fluffy white dog,
    Whose barking inspired this blog.
    If you take a pill,
    she may keep barking still,
    But who cares? Cuz you’ll sleep like a log.

    Sorry – cheesy limerick is more my style than high poetry.

  3. Pingback: Feeling Shiny and New | Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

    • Thanks for dropping by….a drum stick would have been nice, but I’ll take the ‘hey’ any time.

      Poetry is my second favourite thing – right behind all the other things. My daughter was rehearsing a monologue for a play and was reciting The Raven over and over…the the dog started whining when the rain started, and well, you know the rest.

  4. Found you while browsing after a visit from Brendan Cole, look forward to following, I believe from reading a couple of your posts that I won’t be disappointed.

Leave a comment